Growing *The Choir

A little over a month ago, there was a post on one of my buy/sell FB groups for a Singer treadle from he early 1900s.  Although I did inquire about it at the time, the funds and the logistics just were not aligning, so I resigned myself to admiring from afar.  Last week I received a notification that the price had been reduced considerably.  Funding was aligned, and with some planning, so was logistics.

Wednesday afternoon, after school pick up, I collected my husband then an open Uhaul trailer and out to Salinas we went.  WE had to wait a bit as the seller had to make a quick run out, but, oh it was so worth the wait.

Now, sitting, in my living room is a well loved, well maintained Singer Model 66 treadle with Red Eye decals in a #21 Drawing Room Cabinet.  She’s just gorgeous!  All the parts turn smoothly, there were extra bobbins and needles in the drawer, and the manual was quickly downloaded from the ISMACS site.

I’m hoping to do some test stitching in the next few days.

Along with this beauty, there was an antique ice box. I need to do some more research on it, but it appears to also be early 1900s.  I plan to use it to store machine accessories and notions once I get it cleaned up and situated properly.  Of course, that probably won’t be until after the turtles get transported to their new home.

1 Comment

Filed under Machines, Needlework, Sewing

One response to “Growing *The Choir

  1. The machine and cabinet are gorgeous! The decals look very well preserved. I bet it sews beautifully, too. Enjoy your acquisition.

Leave a comment